New Treat #168: Fauntella Crow

I have now (amazingly) been running this blog for around 3 and a half years. I don’t know quite how this happened. However, during this time, it has seen a lot of changes. When I started writing, this blog was primarily dedicated to my love of folk music. Now, my taste is much more eclectic, and I would no longer describe this site as a folk blog. However, I still love a lot of folk music, but due to the folk boom of the late 2000’s, there is also a lot of crap out there. It takes a while to find something a bit special, a bit unique.

Fauntella Crow are just that. Two girls from Los Angeles, each with their own solo projects, have come together to make harmonies reminiscent of The Civil Wars and melodies so honest and beautiful you can tell every word is written from the heart.

They have just released their debut EP, entitled ‘Lost Here’, you can now download it from iTunes. It’s a little hit and miss in places, and could definitely do with a bit more power in the production, but tracks like ‘Just Try and ‘Give Myself Away’ are so heavenly, i’ll let them off.

2 Comments

Filed under New Treats

2 responses to “New Treat #168: Fauntella Crow

  1. Henrik

    Congrats on the 3 and a half years!! Hands down, yours is my favourite new music blog on the web. I preferred when your emphasis was on folk music, cuz I’m a folkie =), but oh well, musical taste progresses and yours got more diverse, I can totally understand that. I also listen to other staff next to folk. But you seem to have found quite an obsession with female fronted pop songs! 😉 In any way, thanks so much for sticking to this beautiful project of yours, every email in my inbox heralding a new post on fwa is worth a smile. Oh, and by the way, Fauntella Crow’s tunes are beautiful! One more artist I’d never (or months and months later) hear of without flying with anna. Keep being awesome! 🙂 Best, Henrik

    • flyingwithanna

      Thanks Hendrik for being a loyal reader! Glad you like Fauntella Crow aren’t they amazing! Keep reading, Anna x

Leave a Reply

