Been Listening #13

It’s been a long while since I ran one of these posts but since I don’t have any amazing new bands to talk about, I thought I would share with you some of the records I have had on repeat recently.

Purity Ring- Shrines

This is a pretty incredible record. It reminds me of Grimes in places but it’s darker, and not as pop orientated. Purity Ring do electronic music perfectly.

Sharon Van Etten- Because I was In Love

I love Sharon and I have recently been listening to her first album ‘Because I was in Love’. It has a different feel to her newer records, it’s more acoustic, and the songs are soaked in sadness. Those complicated melodies are still present though, and of course Sharon’s heart melting voice.

Lower Dens- Nootropics

A band who I have only just got into, but I am much enjoying listening to this album, which is the work of Jana Hunter and band, who come from Baltimore (just like Beach House).

Tame Impala- Lonerism

Despite probably being the worst band I have ever seen live (Glastonbury 2011- Park Stage, just before Blur- did anyone else witness the torture?), I decided to give them a chance and listen to this record after all the hype. I am very glad I did. Dream-grunge meets Sgt. Peppers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Been Listening

Leave a Reply

