Festival Preview: Bestival 2012

It’s 2012. And there is no Glastonbury. This realisation for me and many others came down pretty heavy. But here was my list of alternative options;

1. Cry a lot, watch old Glastonbury footage on YouTube while wearing wellies in your living room.

2. Take it a step further and pitch your tent at worthy farm alongside the cows, get your mate to play ‘Wonderwall’ to you while you sit in a puddle of mud and warm cider.

3. Go to Bestival.

Although I did maybe take option 1 a bit far, and definitely considered No.2, I eventually opted for No.3. Bestival is like Glastonbury, but smaller, and a bit newer. But the atmosphere comes as close as any other UK festival can get. it’s eclectic, for all ages, and theres all that weird and wonderful shit which makes Glastonbury so good.

The line-up is also pretty great. For me Bestival is a bit of a party festival, and I tend to ignore my usual folky instincts and instead opt for the weird, wonderful and  dance bands. Last year my highlights were Primal Scream by a mile but just standing at the main stage during the day brings so many amazing surprises that you can have the time of your life watching a bunch of bands you wouldn’t usually opt to see. Anyway, here is my pick of the weekend.

GRIMES

She’s a bit amazing. One of my favourite records of the year and definitely my favourite gig (Great Escape). Mind blowingly great.

AlunaGeorge

The name on everyones lips. AlunaGeorge are going to be M.A.S.S.I.V.E. Catch them while you can.

Chairlift

Everyone loves a French electro-pop party hey? Especially well suited to Bestival.

Sigur Ros

A band I have been longing to see for years. The echoey, gorgeous sounds of Sigur Ros.

Little Dragon

Little Dragon are such a summer band for me. Will be perfect if the sun comes out at Bestival

Palma Violets

One band which are definitely ones to watch. Palma Violets blew me away at Great Escape where I saw them by chance.

SBTRKT

I predict a fair few collaborations at Bestival during SBTRKT’s set with both Little Dragon and Jessie Ware playing at the Festival.

Spiritulized

Ladies and Gentlemen we are floating in space.

Fourtet B2B Caribou

Like I said earlier, Bestival is all about the party. And this should be some party.

See you there it’s gonna be fab!

Leave a comment

Filed under Festivals

Leave a Reply

