Summer Series Countdown Part 3: Brooke Sharkey

About a year ago I moved to Cable Street in East London. I heard along the grapevine of a little place along my road called Jamboree and one Monday night went to check out what this mysterious little place was. What I found was the start of my head over heels love for East London. A community of musicians gather every Monday night and play a mixture of gypsy jazz, folk, country bluegrass and Americana music to a crowd of people who probably wish they were either living in 1920’s Berlin or 1960’s San Francisco.

Brooke Sharkey is one of these musicians who graces the stage and one of the ones who I believe could also find commercial success with her music. With a voice that swoops between Joni Mitchell and Lucy Rose and songs inspired by her travels between France and London, Brooke is one artist I never tire of seeing live.

I am delighted to have her playing at my Summer Series, bringing a true taste of East London’s underground folk movement to the garden of the Gallery Cafe.

Brooke plays alongside Eliza Shaddad, Henry Skewes and Emily and the Woods.

Grab your tickets for the gig here for only £4! And visit the Facebook event here.

1 Comment

Filed under Summer Series

One response to “Summer Series Countdown Part 3: Brooke Sharkey

  1. edie4me

    Ye olde English folk! Kinda like Kristi Michele but softer and more accessible. I like!

Leave a Reply

