Summer Series Countdown Part 2: Henry Skewes

After introducing you to Eliza Shaddad yesterday, today I move onto another London-based singer songwriter who will be playing my gig on August 15th, Henry Skewes.

Many of the artists playing my Summer Series first reached my ears through sending me an email requesting me to give their music a listen. I get a hell of a lot of emails like this, and it takes something to special to stand out. Especially in the male singer-songwriter scene which is more crowded than any other scene. But Henry Skewes is one of those rare songwriters who stands out miles above the rest.

His own unique brand of North London country music instantly reminded me of Ryan Adams. His songs are melodic, beautifully sung with interesting guitar picking. ‘Middle of the Road’ is my favourite but I am very much looking forward to hearing all his songs, which I have listened to so many times online, live.

Henry plays alongside Eliza Shaddad, Brooke Sharkey and Emily and the Woods.

Grab your tickets for the gig here for only £4! And visit the Facebook event here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Summer Series

Leave a Reply

