New Treat #115: Martha Paton

I briefly mentioned Martha Paton in my review of this years Great Escape festival. She was a last minute recommendation who I ended up really enjoying. I think she has great potential, her songwriting is catchy and pretty all at the same time. Her voice is low and husky, sounding like she has smoked for 40 years, yet also with a freshness to it, showing her youth of only 20 years.

The track I have been most impressed with so far is a song entitled ‘New Song’ which you can listen to a clip of below. I think it could develop into something quite wonderful and I look forward to hearing the whole song. I also really like ‘Wonderers, wandering’ which has a beautiful melodic line. I’d love to hear her songs produced a little darker and more ghostly sounding.

I also enjoy the fact that she is a secret Taylor Swift fan (aren’t we all?).

Martha is planning to released an EP in August and in the meantime, she plays Beach Break Live next weekend.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Treats

Leave a Reply

