My Musical Profile: Sarah Blasko

There’s no arguing that Sarah Blasko has a gorgeous voice. She is soon to release an EP called ‘Cinema Songs’ and I think the beauty of it far succeeds anything she has done before. Made with only her voice and a piano in a room, its a simple yet stunning collection of covers from films which I honestly couldn’t recommend more. Featuring 5 tracks, it proves that Sarah is not only capable of making wonderful folk-pop music, to her usual style, but he voice is capable of carrying these almost jazzy tunes from the cinema to a perfect result. Undoubtedly one of the EP’s of this year.

Sarah was kind enough to answer a few questions for me about her musical tastes, the second in my new feature My Musical Profile. ‘Cinema Songs’ is released on the 3rd October and Sarah tours the UK acoustically shortly after. See tour dates at the bottom of the post.

My Favourite band/artist Bjork

My Favourite Album ‘Revolver’ The Beatles

My Favourite Song This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody) by Talking Heads

My Favourite gig I went to Coachella a few years ago and saw The Flaming Lips, Radiohead, The Cure, Air, Beck, Kraftwerk & Belle & Sebastian on the one day and it was incredible!

My Favourite Lyric “Out of all those kinds of people, you’ve got a face with a view. I’m just an animal looking for a home, share the same space for a minute or two”. ”This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)” Talking Heads

My favourite New Band/Artist Australian singer Brous. She used to do Jazz and now she’s branching out and doing some pop music. It sounds like dramatic 60s music but she’s put her own feel into it and it sounds fresh.

My Dream Festival line-up Nina Simone, Stevie Wonder, Kate Bush, Bjork, Talking Heads, Bob Marley, Bob Dylan.
Right Now I Love ASOS.. I’m addicted to internet clothes shopping! It’s dangerous..
Sarah plays…
October 2011
8th  Clwb Ifor Bach, Cardiff
9th Louisiana, Bristol
10th The Duchess, York
11th Captain’s Rest, Glasgow
12th Hare & Hounds, Birmingham
13th Sacred Trinity Church, Manchester
14th Bush Hall, London
15th The Green Door Store, Brighton
Leave a comment

Filed under Interview

Leave a Reply

