New Treat #46: Birdy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Birdy aka Jasmine van den Bogaerde, is not new to a lot of people. She received airplay from Fearne Cotton a while ago with her Bon Iver cover of Skinny Love and made the top 20. She was only 14 at the time, quite incredible. She is now 15 and has released a cover of The XX’s Shelter, which I like more than the Bon Iver cover. Her voice is silky and gorgeous and the music is delicate but with an incredible power and emotion, its hard to believe she’s only 15.

Other than these two songs, the only other thing I can find online is her playing a song called ‘Be Free’ which I believe is an original but please correct me if I am wrong. It is stunning and honesty one of the most beautiful things I have heard in a long time. I have no more info about Birdy but I expect it won’t be long until we hear a lot more from her.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Treats

Leave a Reply

