New Music 19

This is Louise of Louise and the Pins playing new song Bell Jar. Simply stunning! They were wonderful at the Joe Bloggers night at Dingwalls last week, it was great to have them play. Really looking forward to what comes next from these ladies.

I missed Rachel Sermanni at the Great Escape which I was really gutted about, especially as I was informed it was stunning. This is a new song and it is wonderful as usual. I really hope she released something soon!

Nathaniel Rateliff was on Jools Holland this week, they only showed one song on the Tuesday show but I’m hoping they’ll show another on the Friday show. This is a different song, this is from the Secret Sessions and its called I Am. Check out some of the other secret sessions, they also have Marcus Foster, Emily and the Woods and Alex Winston.

As the Marcus Foster session is so great, I’ve posted that here too.

I went to see Jonny Kearney and Lucy Farrell on Monday night at The Slaughtered Lamb. I first fell in love with them when I got there EP early last year, you can see my very old and very swoony 5/5 review here. Jonny did a solo song on the night called ‘Dixons Street’. He wrote it as part as a tenancy agreement when he moved into a new house in Newcastle. Its very amusing but his songwriting talents truly shine through.

Another band I missed at The Great Escape is Dark Dark Dark. There album Wild Go is excellent, go out and buy it. The best song is Daydreaming, which I have posted before, but this is a nice acoustic version from Watch Listen Tell.

Matt Corby in a field. I don’t know what the songs called but its rather lovely in the setting.

I saw Hurray for the Riff Raff last night at The Magpie’s Nest and thought they were great. It was just a fiddle player and her singing last night but this is a bit more built up and reminds me of Dark Dark Dark.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Music #

Leave a Reply

