New Music 12

Its been about a month and a half since i’ve done one of these so I have lots of very nice things to post about! The first thing is ‘Your Song’, an Elton John song which has been covered by Ellie Goulding. It is going to be on the John Lewis advert so I expect it to get pretty big. Its produced by Ben Lovett of Mumford and Sons and the video is stunning. It’s wonderful to see the old, stripped back Ellie again.

Ray Davis has just released a new album collaborating with many artists including Bruce Springsteen, Metallica, Paloma Faith and Mumford and Sons which of course is the video I am going to post. I love this song and the Mumford sound really suits it.

I Blame Coco’s debut album came out on Monday and my favourite song from the album is the cover of Fleetwood Mac’s ‘The Chain’, its not on YouTube but you can watch it if you click here. Below is another cover of the album of Neil Young’s ‘Only Love can Break your Heart’, this is an acoustic version performed with Fyfe Dangerfield.

Next for a lovely lovely band called Dark Dark Dark. There album ‘Wild Go’ is apparently very good so I may have to invest in it. This is a song called ‘Daydreaming’, the video is lovely too and also check out a song called ‘Bright Bright Bright’.

Lykke Li has just released a new single ‘Get Some’. Its a really really good dancey song but what I love most about the single is the b-side. The reason I love Lykke Li is for songs like ‘Possibility’ and ‘Tonight’ and now this, ‘Paris Blue’.

I have written about The Mariner’s Children many times before. They have just released their first EP on Broken Sound records and I found this video and thought it was rather beautiful.

Mountain Man are really good. I don’t listen to enough of them, this will have to change soon. I really like this song, I think the way they harmonise is really clever.

And lastly for something very different. My brother showed me this and although its not the sort of this I’d normally take to, I think Magnetic Man are really exciting and Katy B is an excellent vocalist. I cannot fault anything in this video. It makes me much happier to think pop music might head in this direction than the direction of the Jason Derulo’s.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Music #

Leave a Reply

