Gig Review: Lissie and Joshua Radin @ Brudenell Social Club, Leeds

I don’t think I’ve ever been to a gig before to only really see the support act but last night I went to see Lissie who was supporting Joshua Radin. There was also support from The Staves. All three acts were really good and the whole evening was lovely.

The Staves are three sisters and were the only British artist of the night. They make beautiful harmonies and pretty folk-pop songs. I really thought they were very good. You can listen to them here, I think the best song is ‘Facing West’. I heard a conversation behind me and one person said ‘They are a bit like Laura Marling’ and then the other person replied ‘No she’s a bit weird, they are much more normal’. I thought that was funny although I don’t really agree. They also sang backing vocals later in the night with Joshua Radin.

Lissie was next, she was brilliant! I have been listening to a lot of Lissie lately. At first I wasn’t sure if I liked her but she has grown and grown on me and I just love her voice. Live, her voice is flawless and she had a lot of energy. She was also very friendly and talked to the audience a lot, at one point about tequila and tomato juice. She sang a few songs from her EP ‘Why You Running’ and then a few songs which I presume will be on the next album. She also did a cover of ‘The Pursuit of Happiness’ by Kid Cudi. It was all very good. She’s playing a few festivals this summer and I definitely recommend catching her at one of them.

Joshua Radin was the headline and although I only knew one or two of his songs, I really enjoyed his set. He was very funny and really interacted with the audience, I really like it when bands do that. For people who don’t know his music it’s sort of acoustic-pop, a bit like Jack Johnson or Jason Mraz. Some songs I recommend are ‘Everything will be Alright’ and ‘Sky’ sung with Ingrid Michaelson. I think a lot of his recorded stuff is a bit too pop for my liking, but live it was really good. Overall a great night with three great bands.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gig Reviews

Leave a Reply

