Album Review: Peggy Sue- Fossils and Other Phantoms

I have to say, I was a tiny bit disappointed with this album. I love Peggy Sue and they have a great sound, but I expected more from them. I know they have some really good songs such as ‘The Sea The Sea’ and ‘Lazarus’ but these were missed off the album. Its full of new songs, but unfortunately most of them are very similar sounding, with similar instrumentation and the same miserable sound behind all the tracks. Stand out tracks are ‘February Snow’ which was included on the Communion Compilation, and the first track ‘Long Division Blues’. ‘The Reminder’ is also a lovely track. As usual with Peggy Sue, the album has some beautiful harmonies from the stunning voices of Rosa and Katy and there sound is still quite unique, its like folk-rock-pop-soul music. I don’t think this album is bad, it just doesn’t show Peggy Sue off to their full potential. They have waited a long time to bring out an album so they have created quite a body of work, but this album isn’t the best of it. I’m hoping the album my grow on me with time.

Rating: 2/5

Best Tracks: ‘February Snow’, ‘Long Division Blues’ and ‘Watchman’

2 Comments

Filed under Album Review

2 responses to “Album Review: Peggy Sue- Fossils and Other Phantoms

  1. Yes I agree with this. I think I would have preferred it if the album had rounded up say 4 or 5 of their best songs over the last few years – from The Sea The Sea to Superman and then added about 6 new songs.

  2. Alistair

    Hey Anna,

    Im the promoter for their next Leeds show at the Brudenell on Friday June 4th. Supporting we have Sky Larkin (full acoustic set) and new act Joesph and David http://www.myspace.com/josephanddavidmusic

    I know the album isn’t all their best songs but they are still ace live which im sure you’ll agree. Facebook event http://www.facebook.com/?ref=logo#!/event.php?eid=115474531807027&ref=ts

    By the way have we met before as I’m sure you have been to a few of my gigs i.e. Communion, and I can’t believe I’ve only just discovered this blog. Please contact me for guestlist for this show and any future collaborations we could work on as I have lots in the pipeline.

    Cheers,
    Ali

Leave a Reply

