New Treat #16: Thom Stone

I talked a little about Thom Stone in my Mumford and Sons review, you can read it here. He was the first support at the Mumford gig, and I really enjoyed it, so since then I have been doing a bit of listening and I think he is really rather good. I think he is a very talented songwriter, and I also really liked his voice, its quite simple, but powerful and very unique at the same time. He is a little like Ryan Adams, with a similar husky-Americana voice and simple lyrical songs. He has also got that vibe of the new folk scene, with similarities to Johnny Flynn and he even recorded a song with Laura Marling. But unlike Johnny Flynn and the likes, he is from Manchester, lovely to get some more Northern talent! He has quite a few singles and an EP on iTunes, or you can listen to him on myspace here. I recommend ‘Hearts and Bones’ and ‘Strangest Taste of Pain’, the song he recorded with Laura Marling. For London people, he is playing two shows this weekend, the details are below.

13th March- Flowerpot, Kentish Town, FREE!

14th March- Shepard’s Bush Empire with Mumford and Sons- SOLD OUT!

I hope you enjoy listening!

Leave a comment

Filed under New Treats

Leave a Reply

