Album Review: The North Farm Sessions by Jonny Kearney and Lucy Farrell

I had this little band on as my New Treat a few weeks ago, you can read it here. So as soon as there mini-album came out last week I bought it and it has not left my CD player since. The whole thing is just so so beautiful, filled with delicate magical song writing and enchanting vocals. The first track ‘Hares on a Mountain’ is the only traditional track, the rest were either written by Jonny or Lucy. This first track is probably my favourite although the rest of the tracks do not disappoint. The charming ‘Song for a Sweetheart’ has some rather gorgeous harmonies on the chorus, ‘To the Boy’ shows the beauty of Lucy Farrell’s vocals and the heartbreaking ‘Letters to Lenore’ sings ‘The only girl I ever did love, she had to leave me be’. I have fallen in love with this album, its just so beautiful. You can stream the whole album on there myspace here or you can buy it here. I really hope these two have a good future in folk, it would be a terrible shame if they go unnoticed. I hope you enjoy it 🙂 You can download Hares on a Mountain below.

Hares on a Mountian- Jonny Kearney and Lucy Farrell

Best tracks: Hares on a Mountain, Letters to Lenore, Song for a Sweetheart.

Rating: 5/5

3 Comments

Filed under Album Review

3 responses to “Album Review: The North Farm Sessions by Jonny Kearney and Lucy Farrell

  1. Yes this is a rather lovely mini album. I’ll be running a short piece on Jonny and Lucy this week on my blog. I first stumbled across them supporting The Unthanks and have been a fan ever since.

  2. mokumhammer

    Saw them last night in amsterdam – VERY GOOD!

  3. Pingback: New Music 19 | flying with anna

Leave a Reply

