New Treat #14: Jonny Kearney and Lucy Farrell

I first heard these two way back last May at Shepley Folk Festival. Shepley is a tiny village next door to the one I live in and every year there is quite a wonderful folk festival (there is good things about living in the middle of nowhere!). They played in this little run down village hall, there was probably only 15 people in the audience, they deserved many more! Anyway, I thought they were wonderful, sweet harmonies, beautiful song writing and more of an alt-folk feel to alot of the traditional folk bands that play Shepley.

There quite unique, but not in a way that its really ‘out there’. There is quite a folk revival at the moment, but I think there is a gap in the scene for something like this. The songs are calm, reminding me of Blue Roses, and the vocals honest and sweet. The boy-girl duo are from Newcastle have recently supported The Unthanks and are doing gigs all over, including Shepley again this year (I recommend it!), a couple of London gigs next month and Lamer Tree festival in July. They have a record coming out on the 8th February, I don’t know where you will be able to get it from though. You can listen to a lovely selection of there songs on there myspace here. My favourites are Hare on the Mountain, Letters to Lenore and Song for a Sweet-heart of which there is a video of below.

I hope you like them! They seem like a really tiny band so I hope more people will find them and be able to appreciate there music.

4 Comments

Filed under New Treats

4 responses to “New Treat #14: Jonny Kearney and Lucy Farrell

  1. I saw these guys supporting The Unthanks and they were highly engaging (as were The Unthanks who played probably my favourite gig of last year)

  2. Pingback: Album Review: The North Farm Sessions by Jonny Kearney and Lucy Farrell « flying with anna

  3. alanna

    I love this act. I have seen them twice now and I own their album. Lucy is bright and bubbly while Jonny is full of dry humour. I am just gutted that some f my very favourite songs such as ‘Jack and Jill’, ‘Stealing Gene’, ‘Dixon Street’ and ‘Stand Up Show’ are not on the album. I really hope they record these sooner rather than later because I’m dying to hear them again xx

  4. Pingback: Albums of 2011: No. 15-11 | flying with anna

Leave a Reply

