My 5 Favourite YouTube Videos!

YouTube is such a wonderful invention! Obviously there are some very bad, and very weird videos, but for music its a gift! Today it’s snowing so I have spent a large chunk of the day watching various videos on YouTube. There are some I see and go WOW, and I keep on coming back to them and I thought I would make a list of the ones I love the most! I would love it if anyone has any amazing videos to show me too. Yes so here goes…

5. First Aid Kit- Tiger Mountian Peasant Song

I remember the first time I found this it was on Fleet Foxes myspace profile. I saw them and they look (and were) about 15, and I thought it was going to be a joke, or like a little cute version. And then they sung! Wow! There voices are like angels, the whole setting of this video is perfect too. It’s now got over 1 million hits on YouTube, quite incredible for a reasonably unknown Swedish band.

4. Alessi’s Ark- Dancing Feet

I have posted this video a few times before, but it is so incredible beautiful! I love the song, the accompaniment by a rather gorgeous Ben from Mumford and Sons, and of course Alessi’s voice which is flawless in this!

3. Bon Iver- For Emma (A cappella)

This video is cut from an 8 minute Blogotheque session, the rest is rather good too but it is this big specifically which is AMAZING! This is probably one of my favourite songs off maybe my favourite album of 2008, but sung  a cappella its just unbelievably good! The Skinny Love Blogotheque video is also very good.

2. Arcade Fire- Wake Up (Live at Glastonbury 2007)

If I don’t see the Arcade Fire live in 2010 I might cry. This performance is incredible. I absolutely love Glastonbury and this makes me wanna be their so much. The crowd are just totally in the performance. I find this video really emotional, I don’t know why…

1. Laura Marling with Marcus Mumford- Blackberry Stone

Blackberry Stone is my favourite Laura song, and maybe my favourite song ever, definitely one of them. This video is beautiful! Marcus Mumford just adds a whole other dimension to it, can he actually do everything! The harmony of their voices too is stunning! The first time I watched this video was the first time I ever heard the song, and it made me cry, the lyrics are incredible. I hope you love it as much as I do.

So that’s my top 5, it was hard. There are song other serious contenders, such as the Edward Sharpe performance on the David Letterman show and Anna Ternheim’s video for the acoustic version of Summer Rain. And Travel Light sung by Johnny Flynn and Laura Marling. Wow, so many good videos! Enjoy the snow! x

2 Comments

Filed under Features, Music

2 responses to “My 5 Favourite YouTube Videos!

  1. THANK YOU for posting this.. I am officially in love with First Aid Kit. Their voices are wonderful..

  2. I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Lucy

    http://keyboardpiano.net

Leave a Reply

