My Predictions for 2010!

Happy New Year! This is the first post of 2010! It’s gonna be a good year, I can feel it. At the moment there are quite a few lists about for predictions of bands which are gonna be big next year. I have decided to do a little selection of bands I think will have success next year, or bands I hope will. There success might not be massive like Florence or La Roux this year, but I hope they will have some success, even if it stays under the radar.

Ellie Goulding

Ellie was my New Treat a few days ago and is the post below this one so look their for some mp3’s, videos and a full description on my thoughts on her. I predict big things for this lady this year. She’s mentioned on every list I have come across for ones to watch next year, and rightly so, she’s amazing.

Peggy Sue

I love love love Peggy Sue and have done ages, but I think that 2010 is gonna be their year. Following the success of Mumford and Sons last year, and as there album is due to be released in the springtime, I think they could do very very well. I hope they do as they really deserve it. The video I have chosen to post I posted a while back but I think its wonderful and beautifully shot so here it is again.

Local Natives

I thought they would do pretty well in 2009 but they have definitely slipped under the radar. Gutted. Local Natives are like a mixture between Fleet Foxes and Vampire Weekend, certainly not a bad combination. There album is already out and a UK tour planned for later this year. I love his voice, its really pure and breathy.

Fanfarlo

Yay! Fanfarlo are a wonderful band. I saw them live on there tour with First Aid Kit and they are really very good. There album is such a beautiful collection of songs. When I made a Top 5 albums of 2009 list in December, they would probably be number 6. This video is of them at Bandstand Busking.

Marina and the Diamonds

I saw Marina and the Diamonds at Glastonbury and I wasn’t overly impressed but I do really like the edgy, strange thing she is bringing to pop music. Her voice is a little like Kate Bush, and her songs are catchy so I think she will do well. Her album is out in February I think.

Broadcast 2000

I don’t think they will have any big commercial success, but they might do pretty well within the folk scene. For Leeds people, there playing for free at Nation of Shopkeepers along with Alessi’s Ark and Rachael Dadd (what a gig! be there)

King Charles

I’m confused whether I love or hate King Charles. This song is pretty addictive and if he produces more like it he could do rather well.

Other bands I think will do good are Owl City, Starsmith, Stornaway, Daisy Dares You, Rox.

I also think The Arcade Fire will have a massive come back as they have a new album out. I predict some anthems in the making.

So, 2010 is looking sunny 🙂 If you have any suggestions of other bands you would like to do well, I would love to listen. Happy New Year again!

Leave a comment

Filed under Features

Leave a Reply

