Best Songs of 2009!

There are so many songs which define this year, from the terrible songs of Lady Gaga to the amazing success of alternative bands such as the Temper Trap. This is a list of some of the songs which has defined my year:

Florence and the Machine- You’ve Got the Love

Florence is amazing, and this song was made for her. I think it deserved alot more success than it got, but even so, amazing song!

La Roux- In For The Kill

Love her or hate her, and despite her apparently being pretty bad live, this song is amazing to dance to and sticks forever in your head.

Noah and the Whale- Blue Skies

One of my albums of the year is The First Days of Spring, the second album from Noah and the Whale, which was written along with a film. This song defines both the album and the film and is just a beautiful summer song.

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes- Home

Edward Sharpe do not fail to make me happy and this song makes me wanna jig about, and run barefoot through the desert, total freedom.

The Temper Trap- Sweet Disposition

A band which you would normally think would stay under the radar, saved only for alternative fans, but this song has had massive success this year which they really deserve.

Mumford and Sons- Little Lion Man

I have loved Mumford and Sons for so long and this song got people wouldn’t normally listen to folk music to do so, I predict wonderful things for next year!

Jamie T- Sticks and Stones

This song reminds me of Glastonbury so much! A artist I would never normally listen to but this song made my summer!

The Yeah Yeah Yeahs- Heads Will Roll

I am not at all a dance music fan, but Karen O is amazing (listen to her soundtrack for Where the Wild Things Are) and this song again, like In For The Kill, is amazing to dance.

Lily Allen- Not Fair

Lily Allen was back this year and this song was my favourite of her album! She also gave an amazing Glastonbury performance!

The XX- Crystalised

A band I really should listen to more of, and who I think will have massive success in the future, this song is amazing.

1 Comment

Filed under Features

One response to “Best Songs of 2009!

  1. That lily allen tune and Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes – Home.. just awesome awesome tunes. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

