The cause and effect never met, never met

Today as I returned from the dreaded college, I found my beautiful Sweet William EP waiting for me at home! After seeing Johnny Flynn in Leeds two weeks ago, I have been so excited and it certainly does not disappoint! The beautiful ‘The Mountain is Burning’ starts it off, quite different from solo version I video recorded, but with a lovely Sussex Wit touch in the form of a lovely string accompaniment and even some maracas? Then to Trains, with a rather nice cello line. My favourite at the moment of the EP, is Sweet William itself. It is made of only Johnny Flynn, with his voice, guitar and mandolin and his beautiful poetry, I love Johnny best in these stripped down versions. The EP ends with Drum, different to the usual stuff, but never the less, very appealing. One of the best parts of the EP is the artwork! All by Johnny Flynn himself, how wonderful! Here is a video of my recording of The Mountain Is Burning which I took at Leeds Brudenell Social Club (wonderful venue, wonderful performance!)

Hope you enjoy the EP as much as me if you have it or are going to get it soon!

Anna x

1 Comment

Filed under Music General

One response to “The cause and effect never met, never met

  1. Just received my copy of the ep this morning and now flailing around excitedly on the web finding other people who love it too.

    Can’t decide if I want his vast talent to remain largely undiscovered?

Leave a Reply

