A Flying Farewell

When I started this blog, I never imagined I would still be writing it three and a half years later. It started off as a bit of fun, a release for all my musical passions, and for all the great bands I listened to who never got noticed. It’s grown into so much more than that, and has become a centre point in my life. Through writing and listening, I have met some incredible people, organised my own events, and had the chance to work on some amazing projects. If I hadn’t started this blog I can safely say that a lot of the cool stuff that has happened to me over the last few years, wouldn’t have happened. More than that though, it has become a complete pleasure to write about and support all the incredible new music coming out of the UK and the rest of the world.

I have always tried to keep my personal life separate from the content of this blog, however, I feel that I cannot just stop writing, some explanation is needed to explain why I am ending Flying with Anna. I’ve spent the last three years living in London, studying, blogging and working in the music industry. However, despite all the things I love about London, I became immensely tired of my life there, and in April, after almost 3 years, I decided to leave. For the past few months I’ve been finishing my degree from home, and preparing for what’s to come. Ending this blog feels like turning the last page of that chapter of my life, and opening a new book.

Today I fly out of the UK to travel the world, and I have no return ticket. I will continue to write, the aspect of music I have loved the most. You can now find me over at One Way to Kathmandu, where I will be writing, photographing, and soundtracking my travels.

Thank you for reading and listening for the last three years. It has brought me so much joy.

A special thanks to: Robin at Breaking More Waves (if you want a new blog to read, I can’t recommend Breaking More Waves enough- also check out Skeletory, Crack in the Road and Just Music that I Like- all excellent), and all the other bloggers who I have met over the last few years, the blogging community has been such a highlight of writing this blog. To all the incredible artists I have had the chance to work with, meet or exchange a few words over the internet, it’s your thanks which have kept me going for so long. To all of my favourite PR people, especially Matt and Ellie at Stay Loose. To everyone who has been involved with the events I have put on, the Glastonbury Emerging Talent Competition, and to anyone who has ever read this blog and found some new music to love and cherish.

I will leave you with a song, one which seems appropriate.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “A Flying Farewell

  1. Ineke Schipper

    Dear Anna, I wish you lots of luck in your life where ever you’re going, but especially on ‘the top’ of the Annapurna..!!!

  2. Matt Bartlett

    Hey Anna, whaddya think you’re doing!
    Have a good one and thanks for the music.

  3. Matt S

    Hi Anna, good luck with your travels, enjoy all the opportunities that arise! I shall miss this blog, it’s opened my eyes to so so many new bands and artists, and has been one I’ve followed religiously since early 2010 (so not quite from the start, but not far off).

  4. Anna, thanks for introducing me to so much new music. Sorry to see your blog end, but traveling the world sounds like a blast. And it takes a lot of time & effort to run a blog (I’ve cut back on writing mine, even though I didn’t do even half of what you did on yours).

    Enjoy your travels… I look forward to “flying” with you to Kathmandu & beyond.

    • flyingwithanna

      Thanks Dave. It does indeed take a lot of time and effort to run a blog. It’s worth it though! Thanks for following over the last few years, I hope you enjoy the new blog as much.

  5. Alex Wake

    Anna,
    I came across your blog by accident a couple years ago and it quickly became a staple of mine. In fact it’s the only music blog I regularly check as I just love your taste in music. I was sad to read it was coming to an end but will now check in at your new online home. Good for you for the new direction you’re taking. How exciting for you. I wish you the best.

    Alex

    • flyingwithanna

      Thanks Alex. Glad you’ve enjoyed the blog for the last few years, I hope you like the new one as much!

  6. Hi Anna,

    Really sad to see this fine blog come to an end. I have really enjoyed reading and discovering.

    All the best with your travels.

    Douglas
    x

    • flyingwithanna

      Thanks Douglas, it was a pleasure to work with you on the Gallery Cafe events, definitely a highlight of running this site. Good luck with everything, especially the music, I look forward to hearing more!

  7. Sorry to see you leave the blogging community, yours has been one of our most read since you began what seems like yesterday. All the best for the future!

    Cheers,

    Jon Sidwell and the rest of the Music Liberation team.

  8. Safe travels Anna.. we’ve love reading the blog and reviews… look forward to following the new page.. evi x

  9. David

    Thanks for the amazing blog… anarchy in the uk!

  10. Hi Anna. It’s been a pleasure and I hope that our paths will cross again at some point in the big wide world. I’ve enjoyed not only your blog but your company at various gigs etc. I have already subscribed to the feed for your new blog so am looking forward to reading about your adventures !

    • flyingwithanna

      Hey Robin, I do hope so too. It’s been great to meet up with you at gigs and festivals over the last few years. I’ve enjoyed all your musical knowledge and opinions. I will continue to follow Breaking More Waves and hope to see you again in the future! xx

Leave a Reply

