Albums of 2012 #5: Lana Del Rey- Born to Die

http://cdn.stereogum.com/files/2012/01/Lana-Del-Rey-Born-To-Die1-608x608.jpg

When this album was released there was so much controversy around Lana Del Rey that I think the greatness of this album got lost. Now we are at the end of the year, it has appeared on many end of year lists so it is good to see it getting the attention it deserves.

This record is pop perfection. It’s interesting, catchy, full of hits, and it’s also got depth and darkness. Her voice is esquiaste and the lyrics are the most thought provoking of any pop artist I can remember in my lifetime.

I wrote a review back when the record was released about the lyrical meaning of the record and my interpretation of it, you can still read it here.

Best tracks: Video Games, Born to Die, Diet Mountain Dew, Radio

 

1 Comment

Filed under Best of 2012

One response to “Albums of 2012 #5: Lana Del Rey- Born to Die

  1. I was worried I’d hate her having read all the press about her before I heard anything. I feared another Lady Gaga but she’s actually pretty cool.

    Thanks for this, I enjoy your blog.

Leave a Reply

